- 1. Log in to your account on instagram.com from a computer or mobile browser. Unfortunately, you can’t delete your account from the Instagram app.
- 3. Once on that page, choose an answer from the drop-down menu next to “Why are you deleting your account?”
- 4. Re-enter your password.
- 5. Click “Permanently delete my account.”
If you’re uneasy about permanently erasing everything or would rather just take a break from the social network, Instagram has a temporary deactivation option. This allows users to disable their account for a period of time and return to it later, meaning that your profile, photos, videos, comments and likes will be hidden from other users while your account is deactivated and will all reappear when you choose to reactivate it.